My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

I just wrote my Senators!

Posted by austinburns on June 6, 2006

I’ve never written to my Senators before. That’s probably not a good thing. But, now I can say that I have. I read in the paper that the Senate will be debating a constitutional amendment banning gay marriage on Wednesday. So, I looked them up and wrote them this:

Senator Martinez:

I am writing you to urge you not to endorse the constitutional amendment to ban gay marriage. This ban is an affront to freedom. America was built on principles that every person was created equally and endowed with unalienable rights. I consider the right to marriage to be one of these fundamental rights. Especially in our time, where there are so many benefits to being married, from tax breaks to the ability to adopt.

In America, you are free to do whatever you want to do with your life. You are also free to NOT do whatever you do NOT want to do with your life. If you are opposed to gay marriage, you do not have to marry someone who is gay. That does not give you the right to deny others their rights.

Please think long and hard about your decision.

Thank you for your time.

Here is the link to contact Florida Senators: Click here

I hope this does NOT go through.

2 Responses to “I just wrote my Senators!”

  1. You are so good for writing to your senators. I didn’t contact mine (Kyl and McCain), because I gave up on them, but I really need to do it more often.

  2. imafungi1 said

    Well, I had read in the paper that it didn’t have much of a chance of passing, but I still felt compelled. I’m glad that it didn’t pass.

Leave a Reply

 
