My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

X-Men 3: The Last Stand

Posted by austinburns on May 26, 2006

X-Men: The Last Stand

Oh boy, I had forgotten how insane midnight showings can be. There wasn't a trailer that wasn't cheered and applauded before the movie. I never understood why people applaud at movie theaters. Unless the creators of the film are in attendance, who are you applauding for?

Anywho, the movie. I've tried to restrain myself from reading any reviews of the movie so as to not taint my outlook. I thought it was pretty good. Not as good as 1 or 2, and I think it had to do with Ratner as director. There were a few storylines that were never really fleshed out completely. A lot of things were just left alone. I will say this, a lot of mutants die in this movie. I won't spoil exactly who dies, but let's just say some pretty big names go.

The whole movie is about a "cure" for the mutants. Some of whom don't think there's anything wrong with them. It has obvious parallels with homosexuality, which some people claim to "cure" as well. I did read part of an interview with Sir Ian McKellen who said he channeled a lot of his rage through him being a homosexual and having people want to cure him. This movie hit home for him. I liked the message of the movie, but I felt that it could have been executed better.

C

Leave a Reply

 
