My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

Da Vinci Code (the movie)

Posted by austinburns on May 22, 2006

Da Vinci Code

Oh boy, where to start. This movie was terrible. I hate to agree with so many critics, but it’s true. When I first read the book, I thought it was good, but not great. The story was intriguing, but the dialogue was bad. Unfortunately, this was carried over into the film. With the storyline stripped to its bare essentials, I never realized how lame it could be. Cheesy flashbacks, bad exposition, and wooden dialogue plagued this movie.

I heard a review from LA Times critic (I think) who said that it seemed the everybody was so afraid to mess up the story that it hampered their ability to act. I believe that.

Tom Hanks was OK. Definitely not his best, but definitely not his worst. Audrey Tautou was good. Her accent was a little thick, but I guess I’m too much of an Amelie fan to let that bother me. Ian McKellen saved the movie. He seemed to be the only one passionate enough about his lines to actually put some feeling into them, rather than just say them. Jean Reno was a waste of Jean Reno. Paul Bettany was Silas, and I think I had too high of hopes for his character. He was very one-dimensional. I guess he was supposed to represent the worst of religion with his blind devotion, not to God, but to a bishop who saved his life.

Unfortunately, I cannot recommend this movie. I’m anxious to see how someone who hasn’t read the book would like the movie.

D

One Response to “Da Vinci Code (the movie)”

  1. luis said

    hey you should post this review on FilmCrowd.com 🙂 your blog url is displayed at the bottom of each review you submit so it might even send a little traffic your way. we have a page up for Da Vinci Code right here: http://www.filmcrowd.com/content/world/all/5092/Da_Vinci_Code_The/8/0

Leave a Reply

 
