My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

Recent books …

Posted by austinburns on April 15, 2006

Naked Pictures of Famous People by Jon Stewart

A book consisting of humorous essays written by Jon Stewart (before he got Daily Show famous). An overall enjoyable book, but some of the essays are hit-and-miss. Most of them are gems, though. I especially enjoyed The Recipie since he just hosted the Oscars and all. Check it out if you're into satirical humor!

A

Assassination Vacation by Sarah Vowell

Sarah Vowell is a contributer to NPR's This American Life and she also provided the voice for Violet in The Incredibles. That being said, this book is about Sarah's fascination with three presidential assassinations in American History, namely Lincoln's, McKinley's, and Garfield's. She points out many lovely and odd facts, like how Robert Todd Lincoln (Jinxy McDeath) was present at all three of those assassinations (and one wonders where he would have been if he were alive for Kennedy's). She tracks down the lives and motivations of the assassins and what became of them after they did their deeds. She also makes comments on the parallels between history and today. This is a great book for anyone, you don't have to be a history nut to like it. Highly recommended.

A

Thank You for Smoking by Christopher Buckley

I decided to read this book when I saw a preview for the movie coming out. I wanted to read the book before I saw the movie. This book was fantastic. Great satire on lobbying as a whole, but it really makes you think about who has a say in what we do. It is pretty scathing of politicians who want to make decisions on behalf of the American public. Ultimately, this novel is about personal choice and the power of argument. As the main character says, "If I argue correctly, I am never wrong."

A

I have a few more books that I am in the process of reading, so I'll post those as I'm done with them. I hate doing these big catch-ups, and I'm going to try to be more punctual in my postings.

Leave a Reply

 
