My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

Thoughts on Bram Stoker’s Dracula (novel)

Posted by austinburns on March 15, 2006

Just finished Dracula and I was happy that it was as good as I've heard. It's a bit anti-climatic, but the book is quite scary in places, and I can imagine how it would have been in the 1800s. The sexual metaphors and the anti-Christ themes were particularly interesting.

Highly recommended.

A

2 Responses to “Thoughts on Bram Stoker’s Dracula (novel)”

  1. I read it years ago and remember being quite spooked. The empty ship when it arrived at the English port scared me. I don’t know if I would have noticed the sexual metaphors or the anti-Christ themes as I read it in high school a long time ago. It almost tempts me to read it again.

  2. imafungi1 said

    The part that was the scariest for me was towards the end when the Count was hovering over Mina’s bed for what seemed like forever, then one of the guys burst into the room and he vanished.

    And Mina thought it was all a dream.

    Freaky stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
