My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

A few thoughts on the Screen Actor’s Guild Awards

Posted by austinburns on January 29, 2006

I came home in the middle of this, so here are a couple of post-show thoughts …

Crash for Best Ensemble in a Motion Picture. They should have renamed this the Terrance Howard and Ludacris award. They were in Crash and Hustle & Flow. I guess this was a good win. I would have liked to see Good Night, and Good Luck win this one.

Phillip Seymour Hoffman for Best Actor, Capote. I REALLY need to see this one! Dammit!

Reese Witherspoon for Best Actress, Walk the Line. I agree with this one. She owned that movie!

Paul Giamatti for Best Supporting Actor, Cinderella Man. Haven't seen it, but it's good to see Paul Giamatti win. He seems so humble, and it's always good to recognize the guy who doesn't think he's that good when he is that good.

Rachel Weisz for Best Supporting Actress, The Constant Gardener. Again! A Golden Globe and now a SAG award? I guess both the foreign press and her fellow actors liked the performance.

Desperate Housewives for Best Ensemble, TV Comedy. Ugh. There were at least three other nominees better than DH. Curb Your Enthusiasm, My Name Is Earl, and especially Arrested Development should have won.

Lost for Best Ensemble, TV Drama. Again, I don't watch much drama, so good for Lost.

Sean Hayes for Best Actor, TV Comedy, Will & Grace. Are you fucking kidding me? What has Sean Haynes done with this character this season that he didn't do in the first half of the first season? Not a damn thing. Give the award to Jason Lee.

Felicity Huffman for Best Actress, TV Comedy, Desperate Housewives. I guess I can stomach this one. It's a crappy show, but she's the best actress on it.

Keifer Sutherland for Best Actor, TV Drama, 24. Haven't seen any of the shows, so congratulations, Keifer.

Sandra Oh for Best Actress, TV Drama, Grey's Anatomy. This was good. I would have liked to see Mariska Hargitay win for SVU, but oh well.

Paul Newman for Best Actor, TV Movie, Empire Falls. Didn't see any of them.

S. Epatha Merkerson for Best Actress, TV Movie, Lackawanna Blues. She's awesome. I love her. She deserves to win.

That was all of them! I only saw the last 45 minutes, but they seemed pretty good. I like the award shows where everyone is sitting at tables and drinking. They are more fun.

Leave a Reply

 
