My Boring Blog

Just a blog about me and whatever I\’m thinking at the time. Ho hum.

Deism

Posted by austinburns on January 15, 2006

The more I read about deism, the more I like it.

From Deism – Wikipedia:

Deism is defined by the view that reason, rather than revelation or tradition, should be the basis of belief in God.

This seems to me to be the way to go. It makes much more sense to believe that if a God (not necessarily the Judeo-Christian God) were truly all-powerful and all-knowing, he would create and set into motion everything the universe needed to run without having to “maintain” it. It’s a very selfish thought to think that God would intervene in our lives.

Many of our founding fathers were actually deist. Most notably, Thomas Jefferson (author of the Declaration of Independence), James Madison (father of the Constitution) Benjamin Franklin, and Thomas Paine (author of The Age of Reason). The mention of a “Creator” in the Declaration of Independence is a deist reference to a deity.

Deism teaches that the only way to “know” God is through knowledge, not random revelation. My search for God is purely personal and I don’t necessarily adhere to any creed or tenet of any one faith. I try to pick and choose what works for me.

I believe in science and I believe that science will be able to explain most, if not all, of the universe given enough time. Just as we have done in the past, things we once thought of as “miracles” will summarily be explained.

I think the Bible is a wonderful story book. It is by no means infallible. It was written by men, and edited many times from the original text. It is also by no means literal. It is full of allegory and parables. The stories of Adam and Eve and Noah and the Flood are just that, stories. They give us examples of how to live our life. But that doesn’t mean their events actually happened.

Jesus was a good man and a good teacher. I do believe that Jesus actually existed, but I’m not sure if he is actually the Son of God. He taught some wonderful things like forgiveness and humility. Many “Christians” know nothing of humility or forgiveness, and that’s why I think many people nowadays are shying away from organized religion.

Well, I think that this is enough for now.

Leave a Reply

 
